Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2003-09-14 - 1:34 a.m.

The key to playing a good show at Freddy's: show up extra early and do your own sound check. This is what I learned tonight.

Although I love Freddy's as a watering hole and house of mirth, I stopped playing there a couple of years ago, because I associate it with terrible sound, chaos, not being able to hear vocals, etc.

This time around, we got there at 6:00 for a rehearsal, and were able to come up with a good mix, and a pleasing stage set up. I was even going to bring my own mic, but I forgot.

Anyway, it resulted in a decent set. I also enjoyed listening to Eureka (whose drummer bears an uncanny resemblance to Sandy Duncan) before us, and John Pinamonti's blues-heavy set afterwards. He played the haunting Zevon song ""Roland the Headless Thompson Gunner", and later hijacked my bass player for a lively rendition of "Folsom Prison Blues."

thoughts? (0 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact