Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2003-09-15 - 10:13 a.m.

Another weird celebrity trend I've noticed lately is a sort of canned self-deprecation amongst the world's beautiful people. I've read several quotes recently by models, TV actresses, movie stars to the tune of "Oh I'm really just a big ol' dork!" And the tone is as self-congratulatory as if they were describing their Emmy award.

Now as an actual card-carrying dork, I'm offended, the same way a black person must be when they hear some yuppie say, "Oh, I may live in Upper Saddle River NJ and drive an SUV, but I'm really down with the brothers."

No, Sarah Jessica, Demi, Drew, Cameron, Ms Romijn-Stamos, you are not dorks, nor geeks, nor nerds, nor clutzes and you will never be. It's really OK--embrace your fabulousness and leave the dork cache to those who have actually earned it.

thoughts? (0 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact