Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2003-09-26 - 12:02 p.m.

You've probably heard that Robert Palmer died this morning of a heart attack. Sad.

Now, RP fell from my favor in the 80s, with his slimy videos and kinda icky music and image. But I cherish this one album of his that I still have on vinyl, Clues, which was his new wave cover record.

He does a credible version of Gary Numan's "I Dream of Wires," a really pretty calypso-ish number called "Woke up Laughing" and then a couple of hit singles, "Johnny and Mary" and "Looking for Clues."

Proof once again that everyone's got at least one good album in him.

Anyway, R.I.P. Robert Palmer and condolences to your family and fans, all of whom read this blog I'm told.


Rufus Wainwright's album is fully streamable at his site. Way to go, Rufe.

thoughts? (0 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact