Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2003-11-19 - 5:22 p.m.

I love the post office. I've been selling things through half.com and find myself in the P.O. quite a bit lately.

I enjoy standing on line just long enough to read the poster telling you what you can't ship ("Explosives: check, hazardous waste: check..."), and I enjoy the clerks at the Soho branch, who are, against type, usually quite cheery and non-disgruntled (gruntled?). Today my clerk was going on about how great their new computer system is and he really seemed pleased.

It always strikes me as faintly miraculous that there's an official process in place by which you can take items from your home and, for just a couple of bucks, send them off into the world--Kansas! Arizona! Queens!--where someone else will receive them and love them.

thoughts? (2 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact