Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2003-12-13 - 5:24 p.m.

Sunset Boulevard has proven to be one of those films that won't leave me alone. Images from it continue to pop up in my mind, and I keep repeating lines, except twisting them around to suit the situation.

"I am big! It's the toaster oven that's gotten small!" etc.

What a great lesson, not just about Hollywood, but about the dangers of creating a life that consists entirely of ego-props and baricades against reality.

Even Max the butler's motives for sustaining Norma's delusions are not kosher--he's protecting his own ego by preserving the greatness of "his" discovery.


Dave Benjoya's Pleasure Mechanics played at Freddy's last night, and they were excellent as usual. If you haven't seen them, they are a constantly shifting collective (a la these guys) of local musicians, playing covers and originals spiced up with a horn section. Their version of "Shine on You Crazy Diamond" will melt the heart of even the staunchest anti-Floyd-er.


I now officially have the cold that I promised myself I wouldn't catch from all the other people who have the same one. However, it's not too bad...


I try to buy the planet-happy, organic version of as many household products as I can, but there are some real pitfalls in that approach. Namely, there has not yet been invented an effective organic bathroom cleaner, deodorant, or toothpaste. And don't tell me Toms of Maine, their products suck and are way too expensive.

However, not to leave you on a negative note, I highly endorse this stuff for washing dishes.


Mystical Beast has a great post today about a conversation with Stephin Merritt, preceded by the Beast's own list of essential albums.

thoughts? (2 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact