Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-01-10 - 9:25 a.m.

Apropos of absolutely nothing, I was just reminiscing about Stephen Soderberg's Oscar acceptance speech when he won for best director a few years back. It struck me at the time as a generous, succinct , humble speech, and I reproduce it for you here in full.

What I want to say is, I want to thank anyone who spends part of their day creating. I don't care if it's a book, a film, a painting, a dance, a piece of theater, a piece of music, anybody -- anybody who spends part of their day sharing their experience with us, I think this world would be unlivable without art, and I thank you.


Speaking of awards, "ass-hat" did not sweep the 2003 Words of the Year awards as I predicted, but it did OK.


Anyone suspect that Evelyn keeps escaping because she likes the tranquilizer?

thoughts? (1 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact