Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-01-14 - 12:13 p.m.

There are important things going on in the world, in space, and in Brooklyn. But today I just want to tell you about my new jacket.

You see, I have never really had a good winter jacket. My m.o. since my high school days is to pick one up (usually something ill-fitting and kinda on the ugly side) at the Salvation Army or some cheap joint and wear it for a season or two til it's falling apart. Occasionally I'll inherit a winter jacket from a friend or relative, and wear that. I just never put a lot of thought into it.

And that worked out fine for a long time. But as autumn started turning to winter this year, I felt a strong inner prompting to buy myself a good, warm, quality jacket that would last for a long time and look nice in the process. It felt like a life-affirming choice.

I picked out the type of jacket I wanted and hung up a picture of it on my fridge and looked at it every day, figuring that the money for the jacket would roll in when it was ready.

Well! Fall then turned to pre-winter!

I grew impatient! The weather got cold! I couldn't afford my dream jacket, and I couldn't hold out any longer, so I plunked down some cash on a mediocre down jacket from a local shop. The zipper broke two days later...but I fixed it and kept wearing it around town. It wasn't really warm enough, so I piled on sweaters.

Finally, after New Year's, the day arrived. My dream jacket went on sale, I had a small reserve of cash from a blizzard of Half.com sales activity, and I bought it.

I wore it for the first time yesterday, and have been on two dog-walks and two commutes in this bitter cold, and the jacket is perfect. It's toasty, comfortable, not overly-bulky, and has all the cool little quality appointments that you'd want in a winter jacket, like good, deep, flannel-lined pockets and a hood that stays closed when you wear it. Also, it's reversible.

I hope my little tale has inspired you to follow your sartorial dreams.

thoughts? (6 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact