Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-04-03 - 5:36 p.m.

I'm becoming addicted to karaoke. Last night was a much better scene: an actual bar (the wonderful Hope & Anchor in Red Hook) with a karaoke machine, a subdued and nurturing transvestite MC, and a room full of enthusiastic strangers. (As opposed to Sing Sing which costs $35/hr, has private rooms, and feels like a bordello).

The highlight of the evening was hanging out a little with an acquaintance's adorable PBGV. There is simply no cuter breed, combining the best traits of hounds (intelligence, affability, resonant bark, handsome face, long basset ears) with terriers (compact size, mustache).


On April 2, 1992, I played my first NYC gig, with my first band, the Jungle Creeps. It was at the (ugh) Spiral (which is a deli now I think...). I wore jeans and a Throwing Muses t-shirt over a green thermal long-john shirt, as was the grunge fashion, and my guitarist (who went on to join a popular and influential band located in a popular and influential southern city) forgot all his pedals. I had to go to work the next day at St Mark's Comics, but I went to work knowing that I was not just a clerk anymore. This anniversary will always be one of those days of quiet reflection: how far have I come? Am I still in love with music? With NYC? With Rolling Rock?

Interestingly, 4/2 is also the anniversary of my brother's joining the Marines, and I always remember, even if I forget to wish him a happy anniversary and semper fi.

thoughts? (0 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact