Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-04-16 - 11:41 p.m.

I have gotten more hits on my site from the Googled expression "Jane Austen Doe" than any other reference, ever (and I've been blogging under various pseudonyms for years). People, apparently, are still talking about that Salon article.

I have to admit that my opinion has changed. My knee-jerk reaction when someone complains about money (especially in the same paragraph as "I got a $150,000 advance") is to say "be grateful for what you have and quit whinin'."

In general, I believe that gratitude is a healthier option than complaining--cuz once you start complainin', you can always find more to complain about til you're just consumed with bitterness.

However, on closer examination, and aside from the "whining" aspect of the article, why is it wrong for people to want to get paid for their work? Why are artists and writers expected to toil in obscurity and poverty while, say, ad executives and bankers are not?


I am fascinated by Tyson, the skateboarding bulldog. Jeepers.


I'm enjoying The Bullfighter Checks her Makeup--thanks to Mr Pathos for the recommendation.

thoughts? (8 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact