Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-05-02 - 4:44 p.m.

A mystery solved, a shameful cultural ignorance revealed.

The song I heard in the store on Easter Sunday was not anything called "Sway," it was "Maps" by the Yeah Yeah Yeahs. (In my defense, the hook features the word"wait" which I--and the clerks--mis-heard as "sway.")

I had never actually heard the YYYs, and had assume they were garage-y. This song has a "Rapture"-era Blondie vibe to it. I am really out of touch.

My ultimate point is that I think it's a delicious song, with all the signifiers of the music I love, and I shall now become a huge YYY's fan, just watch. Karen O. is the only singer worthy of all the Chrissie Hynde comparisons that have been doled out carelessly these past 25 years.

thoughts? (5 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact