Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-05-17 - 9:03 a.m.

Dear Yoga Teacher:

I'm sure you're a very nice person. But I thought I'd explain why I walked out of your class this morning, marking perhaps the third time in over a decade that I've ever quit a class early.

No, it's not because you keep saying "abdomum." That's tolerable, even kind of cute.

And it's not because you dress for class like you're trying to pick up sailors, because that's none of my business and I've seen worse.

It's because you routinely, with no regard for anyone else's schedule or time, teach a one-hour class in such a way as to stretch it out to 1.25, 1.5 hours, defeating the purpose of a before-work class.

Your students who aren't freelancers or unemployed have the choice of either getting to work late (stress!) or missing several postures, deep relaxation, pranayama, and meditation (more stress!)

And despite having very sweetly and respectfully pointed this out to you before, you choose to ignore this, and you teach a slow, talky, boring, long class because I think you enjoy hearing the sound of your own voice more than you like actually helping people.

So I left class and wrote all this, but nicely, on a teacher evaluation form, and then got a large, steamin' coffee (cuz I had to get up really early to get to your class) and will try to take another class again after work.

Love, Paula

P.S. Maybe I'm just tense because I did end up watching the Manson movie. (And it was rather artfully done, no? I always enjoy Jeremy Davies in whatever role he plays, but he was born to play Charlie).

thoughts? (2 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact