Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-06-07 - 3:33 p.m.

OK, had to double-post today, because I forgot to mention two things I'm really enjoying.

The Kids in the Hall DVD came from Netflix, and I've been watching it religiously since I got home from Chicaggy.

I'm still on season one, with its classic poker game and "date negotiaions" sketches.

What I love about watching this a big slab at a time is that you really can appreciate the show and its ensemble as a whole, rather than on the merits of individual episodes or sketches. Cuz some are really, well, sketchy...haiku-like. Not laugh-out-loud funny, more like character studies or li'l doodles of funniness or weirdness. (I hate the word doodle but I was in danger of using the word "sketch" again).


One of the books I picked up from BEA is Awake at Work: Facing the Challenges of Life on the Job, written by a Buddhist businessman. It is so rich, precise, practical, and jargon-free. It is not a "who moved my cheese" kinda non-book, and it is not as vague as, say, The Power of Now. Its basic message is to...stay awake at work. Don't get carried away by illusions, stay mindful and engaged in order to enjoy your livelihood and bring honor to your Buddha-self. A simple message, wrought intelligently.

thoughts? (0 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact