Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-06-18 - 7:59 a.m.

I recently had to write about Natalie Goldberg's Long Quiet Highway for work, and it reminded me of how important this book (and this one) was to me when I read it for the first (and second and fiftieth) time.

I've not always seen eye-to-eye with Natalie, but this book is so full of honesty and hard-won perspective and real wisdom, its very presence on my desk makes me happy.

Here's Natalie on success. And notice she isn't saying "success is bad,":

...Some people write for fifteen years with no success and then decide to quit. Don't look for success and don't quit....Success will or will not come, in this lifetime or the next. Success is none of our business. it comes from outside. Our job is to write, to not look up from our notebook and wonder how much money Norman Mailer makes...




The Anabolics record release show at Luna was great fun. They are a dynamic live band, great onstage rapport, and are worthy proponents of the garage-rock tradition.

Marcelo (who y'all may remember as the bassist from Shake Appeal) is the bitchenest drummer...he counts off about half the songs in Spanish, a la Sam the Sham.... Leader Annabelle has the coolest Les Paul Jr. with hot rod flames.... And I've known keyboardist Anne for many years, and this was the first time I'd seen her in a miniskirt.

Anyway, there's nothing on the website about how to order their new record, but you can join theiir mailin' list.

thoughts? (0 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact