Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-07-25 - 8:44 p.m.

This weekend fairly rocked.

I bought a mop.

I saw A Home at the End of the World, a flawed but extremely heart-centered film which made me cry in public. It is a romantic film, not in the boy-girl sense, but in a sweeping geographical and historical sense--it captures the feeling of the E. Village in the 80s, which is just about when I discovered NYC for myself, and embraces the idea that family is whatever configuration of people you have chosen to love. Have decided that watching boys kiss onscreen is a worthwhile activity.

I started reading a collection of Richard Yates stories. Devastatin'.

I went to two very good parties.

I came up with a simple explanation of what "believing in God" means to me: not readily accepting artificial limitations, trusting that there's more to the world than meets the senses or the measure of science. It's a feeling rather than something that needs to be proven.

And speaking of movies and God, watching movies is like being God, watching creation, forgetting you created it, absorbed in the unfoldment but not truly affected by it.

Seeing movies is a sacred act because we possess the mind of God wihle we watch. And because of the Goobers.

Home computer is still busted, and work is going to be busy this week, so once again I will be terse and mysterious, but sending you my sapphire blue love.

thoughts? (6 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact