Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-08-19 - 8:19 a.m.

Another co-worker leaving, another great night of karaoke. This place was true to karaoke's Japanese roots, with a swanky but cheesy feel, and lots of goofy videos to accompany the songs.

Probably the best moment was an ex-co-worker's stirring rendition of "Master of Puppets," replete with insanely long instrumental breaks. But really, the highlights were plenteous, as I seem to work with the best, hammiest singers in New York.

I did "Suffragette City," and would have done "Dreams" by FMac, had the gods of good taste not intervened by losing my request.


I would like to comment on the new David Kilgour album, 'cept my work computer is all weird and won't play CDs. I will say that the cover art is really lovely.


I was in a Barnes and Noble the other day, and there was music playing throughout the store--the volume was low but the music was a mix of mid-tempo rockers. I was disoriented and a little annoyed--is this something new? Are they going to play music in B&N now, while people are trying to read? Was I dreaming it?


It occurs to me that this was one of the dullest blog entries ever. I'd better come up with an actual topic one of these days.

thoughts? (17 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact