Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-08-22 - 7:47 p.m.

OK, the rooster story.

First of all, you'll need to register for the NY Times to read this.

OK, that rooster lives right behind me in an adjacent yard and has been crowing at dawn for the four years I've lived in Sunset Park. I have written sappy poetry about that rooster as I sat in my tiny concrete garden, entranced. I have had sweet conversations with the people who rescued that rooster when they found him stranded on the BQE.

In a neighborhood where passing car stereo systems literally rattle my windows, where hooligans hang out on the street corner making noise all night long, where people raise pit bulls as fighting animals, this fucking moron calls animal control to get rid of a rooster? Our one link to Brooklyn's agrarian past, our one little reminder that life is not all machines and computers and subways and TV?

That's the rooster story. Grr.


Do you like mediocre and unfunny Mexican caper comedies with lot of pointless bloodshed? Then you'll love Nicotina.

I guess I'm a crankster today, despite the gorgeous weather...

thoughts? (3 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact