Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-09-02 - 9:55 a.m.

This summer, for me, consisted mostly of seeking pleasure, avoiding pain (though it often found me), and tirelessly endeavoring to add more beer and ice cream to my diet.

But it's September now, and as if on cue the weather has become gorgeous and clear and sunny, and I am ready to get back down to the business o' living right.


What's not to like about the latest Libertines album? Forget the facile Strokes comparisons, the L's music sounds less contrived, more naturally-occurring, more joyful...Its conversational, bratty, but mostly gleeful vocals, with just the right touch of echo, recall The Only Ones.

At the risk of sounding like Jackie Harvey, I hear they've fallen on hard times, but let's hope they can get it together for at least another album. Item!

thoughts? (1 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact