Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-09-15 - 11:03 p.m.

R.I.P. Johnny Ramone


Forgot to mention that I had a pretty good coup at the 88-cent bin last night: The Bad Plus's These are the Vistas, an album that seemed to make a lot of year-end best-of's last year (at least from midwestern sources--their lack of buzz in NYC may explain why I found their rekkid in the bargain bin in the foist place).

It's pretty interesting...I could have done w/o the cover of "Smells Like Teen Spirit," but the cover of "Heart of Glass" somehow wrenches my chest cavity in a way that instrumental music does not usually do. "Silence Is The Question"--an original--is also quite affecting.

I also found Scout's This Soft Life which is just exquisite...voluptuously sad...simple and free. I love Scout.

thoughts? (2 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact