Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-09-18 - 11:52 a.m.

Well, I do love the 90s. Last night I went to Webster Hall (a venue I haven't set foot in since the grunge era) and saw The Melvins. My expectations were low, their functionality was high, we met in the middle and fun was had by all. I love when Buzz Osbourne steps up to the mic (which isn't often, as most of the Melvins show is about the guitar) and sings like a stern but not excitable preacher imparting very important information about your salvation.

Opening act Trevor Dunn are an explosive improvisational trio (upright bass, guitar, drums, with the occasional guest harpist) who embody the rock spirit even as they stray from the rock formula...their drummer is incredibly expressive, and the improv stuff seems to work more often than not.


In other news, I signed the lease on my new apartment in Bay Ridge! For the next two weeks I'll be a-packin' and a-throwin' stuff out.

thoughts? (1 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact