Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-09-29 - 9:31 a.m.

I'm reading Nicholson Baker's Checkpoint--you know, the novel that the paper of record called a "scummy little book." Highly recommended--it's funny and complex and takes about as long to read as your morning blogs (except you can carry it on the train).

And speaking of trains, I had the quintessential NYC subway experience last night--I was shrieked at and berated by a crazy guy and pelted with...snack chips. What was chilling was that he really did seem angry at me, not the world. Anyway, I'm OK, I managed to slip off the train w/o being followed.

It was a vivid reminder of how we live in our own world of projections and fantasies, even if most of us are able to keep it under control most of the time.

thoughts? (2 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact