Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-10-25 - 11:06 a.m.

If Hell has been a bit nippy today, it's most likely due to my most recent acquisition. I am baffled by this new technology but also entranced. Let the brain cancer commence!


Have been slowly rebuilding my identity since my wallet was stolen a few weeks back. First thing I got replaced was my ATM card, although it's a temporary one. Then I got my yoga teacher discount card replaced. This weekend, I joyfully replaced my liberry card.

My new branch library is literally a one minute walk from my house! It's tiny, but with interlibrary loans, it's like my own private magical book stash.

I picked up the new Natalie Goldberg book, and have been devouring it. It's not like any of her other memoirs. She discusses two important relationships in her life and how both men (her father and her beloved teacher) turned out to be more complex and a tad creepier than she originally allowed herself to believe.

Throughout this difficult story, she mostly manages to avoid bitterness (except in short, staccato bursts of sarcasm), and never fully tosses off her faith in the power of truth.

thoughts? (4 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact