Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-12-20 - 8:50 a.m.

About once a year for the past ten years, I've re-read The Subterraneans, and I am currently on re-read number ten. It is, in my opinion, the only good thing Kerouac ever wrote, and it is perfect. It reads all goofy if you're not used to the Beat style, but once you sink into its rhythms, it's a very honest and evocative piece of writing. It captures the bleakness and joy of a passionate, ill-advised love affair.


Lots of holiday parties this weekend, one of which was visited by Santa Claus (I suspect it wasn't really him) and which culminated in Freddy's for last call (aprox 5:00 AM). This, as my friends know, is not a typical Saturday night for me, I'm usually asleep by 11:00. But it's nice to get out and see how the night owls live. Hoo hoo. It felt Christmas-y somehow, cuz the Christmas season should contain some departure from routine. We are all lambs in a manger, are we not?


Being sucked dry by leeches isn't so bad.
You will be sucked dry by a leech. I'd stay away
from swimming holes, and stick to good old
cement. Even if it does hurt like hell when
your toe scrapes the bottom.

What horrible Edward Gorey Death will you die?
brought to you by Quizilla

thoughts? (0 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact