Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2005-08-14 - 12:36 p.m.

A shout-out to my man Willis Haviland Carrier, inventor of air conditioning, who made it possible for me to enjoy the first really good night's sleep I've had since this interminable heat wave began in, what, late June?

I finally broke down and got a/c and everything is good now.


This may be my happy, air-conditioned neurons talkin', but I watched the Stepford Wives remake, fully expecting to hate it, and was pleasantly surprised. It's a charming, funny movie, with a few flaws.

The epilogue hammers its message a little too obviously, as if we wouldn't get it without being told, and I'm slightly annoyed that the writer or director (probably influenced by test market audiences) backs off from the daring premise, flirted with earlier in the film, that maybe the Stepford husbands weren't evil or stupid, but just dissatisfied with the status quo.

Nevertheless, an enjoyable 90 minutes with plenty of yonks.

thoughts? (0 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact