Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2005-08-31 - 10:13 p.m.

I promise I'll stop talking about Six Feet Under...soon. But I just finished Season 4, and that finale was a doozy. I'm not going to say it "redeemed" the season, because I've really liked it so far, but it did an admirable job of tying up some loose ends and commenting on itself, in a way.

The last scene, with David and his father, is especially important, in a drama where people seem addicted to pain: maybe after a certain point pain is voluntary and no longer instructive or necessary.

"...You can do anything, you lucky bastard. You're alive! What's a little pain compared to that?..."

Maybe it is that simple after all.

thoughts? (4 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact