Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2005-10-14 - 6:07 p.m.

Friday is record round up day, I've decided!

  • Hey, Ric Ocasek's new album doesn't suck, it's a guitar-heavy rocker that sounds less like the Cars than like something Iggy Pop might have recorded in his living room.

  • Vashti Bunyan's delicate Lookaftering is not my usual cuppa tea, but the folk melodies, the gentle arrangements, and her voice are so transcendent, I feel like I'm floating over my childhood and looking down and seeing it was happier than I remember. (Does that make sense? I'm delirious from all the Diet Pepsi.) It definitely sounds of its era, but not so much that it gets in the way of the good songs.

  • Although I've been listening to the new
    Blood on the Wall record as I drift off to sleep (I sleep better with Sonic Youth-y white noise than with new agey white noise), I can't say I actually like it. It is much like reading a high school paper about, say, abortion rights, by a particularly bright sophomore, and thinking "Well, this kid is smart," rather than thinking, "This is a good paper."


    Chimps chat while they eat!

    thoughts? (0 comments so far)

    previous - next

    blog archive

    contact