Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2005-12-15 - 10:32 a.m.

I'd like to take a break from transit strike worries, death penalty debates*, and winter blahs for a moment and celebrate votin', virtual dog shows (ok, and cat shows), and chimps in the arts.

...

*Ok, just one more thing about the topic...If you're against the death penalty, you're against it whether a criminal is "redeemed" (according to whom?) or not redeemed, remorseful or remorseless, a model prisoner or a total bastard.

It bothers me a little when people use the argument "But Tookie helped a lot of people, blah blah blah..." as if that were a rationale for not executing him.

Sorry, if you believe state executions are wrong, then they are wrong and there is no other rationale. To imply otherwise is to play God.

For the record, if you haven't guessed, I think the death penalty is barbaric.

Wait, didn't I just say I was gonna take a break from talking about this? Sorry. Quick, more apes!!!


OK, and yet more apes: this study about women who like monkey p*rn needs no commentary from me.

thoughts? (21 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact