Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2005-12-24 - 2:05 p.m.

Now that the strike is over (well, the dispute itself ain't really over, but the surface manifestation is removed for now), IHoP can get back to what really matters: ephemera, escapism, and bullshit.

I don't think I've mentioned this, but for the past several months I've been watching the Thin Man series, and generally loving it.

But by far the most amusing installment is Song of the Thin Man, which takes place in the jazz milieu, and features scene after scene of, um, "heptalk" that I'm sure was already dated and exaggerated even at the time.

I could listen to fake 40s hipster slang all day long, mister.


I am reading several of your book recommendations simultaneously, which is causing my vacation-addled brain to hurt. Damn you.


All I want for Compulsive Consumer Holiday is Thing Feet**. Thanks in advance.

**Features:

  • Transforms your child into The Thing

  • Empowers the imagination

  • Complete the transformation with Thing Hands (sold separately)

    thoughts? (7 comments so far)

    previous - next

    blog archive

    contact