Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2006-02-15 - 2:06 p.m.

Speaking of love, and songs, BMG Heritage has been, for the past year or so, releasing a series of love song collections by an array of artists, some puzzling (Heart? Waylon Jennings?) and some that hit the nail right on the head (BeeGees! Elvis!)

But the best of the lot is the Nina Simone set, which includes the sweet "I Loves You, Porgy" and a devastating rendition of "Who Knows Where the Time Goes."

It got me thinking about other love songs that aren't gross...

"The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face" (Roberta Flack version ONLY) is heart-stopping...X's "The Hungry Wolf" is a love song that celebrates the wild, raw energy of love..."I'm in Love with a Beautiful Girl" and, less obviously, "Airscape" by Robyn Hitchcock are lovely...

Would like to hear your take on this. I am also curious about couples' "our songs" and the story behind them. Why? Well, I'm a sap, that's why.

thoughts? (27 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact