Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2006-03-28 - 12:03 p.m.

I rarely read introductions or forewords of books, especially spiritual texts. For me, it's one big spoiler, and I don't like being told what to think or what to focus on, and I especially hate when they take an inspired manuscript and suck all the life out of it with dry, cold analysis or historical context.

However, today I was stuck on a train, and feelin' read-y, and discovered that an edition of the Bhagavad Gita that I've read about 20,000 times in the last five years has an intro that is beautifully written and insightful and inspiring.

"Wow, nice," I sez.

And when I got to the end, I realized it was by Aldous Huxley. Swell chap, that Aldous!

thoughts? (7 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact