Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2006-06-05 - 2:09 p.m.

I'd never heard of Mason Jennings, so when I saw his folksy-country-looking album cover, and the fact of his being on Sony, I convinced myself he was Shooter's brother (and Jessi and Waylon's son).

However, he ain't. He is a rootsy feller from Minnesota who writes some simple, human, impassioned songs in the Blood Oranges/Lucinda Williams mode. (Technically, in the Band mode, but I get tired of using the same comparisons all the time.) I like this unassuming album.

And I am not being facetious when I say that his vocals give me hope that you can have less-than-stellar pitch and still land a major label record deal...


Elvis Costello & Allen Toussaint have teamed up to make a pretty cool album of Toussaint originals peppered with some co-writes and one Elvis original, which he wrote in the days following Hurricane Katrina. It's produced by Joe Henry, recorded mostly live in the studio with a bitchin' band. Good stuff, this.


Rob Brezsny has given me and my Aries compatriots "...poetic license to be mercurial, spontaneous, and inscrutable" this week, so be prepared.

thoughts? (4 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact