Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2006-06-08 - 12:48 p.m.

Did you know that Momus and Justin Currie were related? And did you also know that I will never, ever remember the difference between Del Amitri and the Del Fuegos? Not that it's mattered so far in life.


Nothing nudges one out of a psychic rut faster than visiting a new salad bar for lunch. I feel so strongly about this that I may need to write a self-help book.


Neither Google Language Tools nor Babelfish has an option for Polish. Why?


It is no secret that Paul Simon is one of my songwritin' idols, although I haven't been too enamored of anything he's done in the past, oh, 47 years or so. I admire his explorations of rhythm and world sounds, but I miss the beautiful melodies and lyrics of yore.

So it is with a celebratory whoop that I report that his latest album is startlingly lovely. He still falls back on the old gospel changes, but within a context of Eno-y space rock, it sounds revelatory.

And just out of curiosity, I checked to see if Edie Brickell was still recording, and it looks like she is. They still seem fairly married and all that, too. Good going, kids.


It came as no surprise to me that I would find the Raconteurs's record instantly likeable, but I am a little scandalized to learn how much I like the Twilight Singers record, as Greg D. has never done much for me. I like when he gets all Radiohead on the vox.

thoughts? (14 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact