Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2006-07-07 - 12:31 p.m.

I've got too much stuff to say today for just one entry!

OK, firstly, Anna Kramer's voice is unearthly.

And secondly, when Johnny Cash tells you that God's gonna cut you down, as he does on his last (ever) album American V, you kinda have to believe him.

But one man who ain't gonna believe that is Sam Harris, author of The End of Faith, who makes a convincing and surprisingly non-obnoxious case for why organized religion can be corrosive.

Now, I am a fan of all religions, a dewy-eyed believer in God, and a strong advocate of spiritual practices that bring people in daily contact with the transcendent. But I still find a lot of value and wisdom in what he has to say.

(Thanks to whoever tipped me off to the interview with him in Salon today--your email arrived anonymously.)


Two other thangs, and then I'm outta cyberspace: The Big Clock is clever, funny, suspenseful, stylish and very weird. And you should rent it.

And you don't have to be a closet Linda Ronstadt fan like me (and some other folks I know...I'm lookin' at you, RT) to appreciate the spine-tingling close harmonies on her new album with Ann Savoy of the Savoy-Doucet Cajun Band.

This should appeal not only to traditionalists (or, um, traditionalists who are tolerant of pop stars impinging on their territory) but also to anyone who ever raised a can of PBR to their lips at some Williamsburg old-timey jam.

thoughts? (9 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact