Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2006-07-15 - 7:26 p.m.

The new Gladys Knight comp, (those Hip-o "Gold" collections are uniformly rad) causes me great joy. I believe she recorded the definitive "Heard it Through the Grapevine"--far from Marvin Gaye's suave rendition or even CCR's passionate take, her version just boils over with rage and heartache.

The one-two punch of that song followed by "End of Our Road"--the greatest fuck-off-and-die breakup song ever--convinces me that Gladys is just superhumanly talented.

And the Pips are nice, too.

Although an autobiographical note here: the first version of "Grapevine" I ever remember hearing, weirdly enough, was the Slits', from the Typical Girls single. I don't think I heard Marvin, et al til that awful movie with the dead baby boomer.

thoughts? (6 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact