Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2006-09-22 - 8:55 a.m.

Some day, when I have time, I'd like to research the topic of "advice" in pop music. You know, how many songs over the course of history have counseled the listener to "put away their foolish pride," and whatnot.

And then I'd like to compare that with actual advice I've given or received over the years, and see how it stacks up--are today's pop stars giving better or worse advice than our friends and therapists?


I have a fairly low tolerance for "post-rock" experimentation, but when it's done right, it can really yield moments of transcendent beauty. Such is the case with Bound Stems, a nutty little band from Chicaggy whose latest album Appreciation Night (streaming here) veers in and out of the lovely zone in just the right measure.

thoughts? (8 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact