Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2006-10-26 - 11:17 a.m.

The 69 Eyes are such a touching throwback to '80s goth it's hard not to like 'em. And they have a song about (of course!) Brandon Lee.


This is going to read like a Jackie Harvey column, but bear with me...

I enjoy seeing films 100% spoiler-free, so my general M.O. with movie reviews is to read 'em after I see a movie.

Last night marks one of the few times I've regretted this maneuver, as I Netflixed The Break-Up, thinking it'd be a light-hearted Team Aniston romp, suitable for dinner-viewing...and man is it ever not that.

It's supposed to be a comedy but, aside from a really great cameo by John Michael Higgins, it plays more like, I dunno, a relationship horror film.

In a way, I admire its insistence on not adhering to the rom-com formula, but there's not much left after the "rom" and the "com" are taken away--just an unsatisfying drama about two bitter people making each other's lives miserable...which isn't my idea of a fun Wednesday evening.

One nice thing, though: casting Detective Robert Goren as Vince Vaughn's brother was quite inspired. They do actually look alike.

thoughts? (4 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact