Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2006-10-29 - 8:21 p.m.

The news about the Mexican riots is made all the more sobering with this sad story about Brad Will. I didn't know him personally, but I know a few disparate people who did, and it sounds like he was a brave and admirable guy.


It feels weird to go from that item to this, but last night I had one of the most purely fun evenings in a long time.

First, dancing to Forro for All at Barbes. Or I should say, I was swayin' enthusiastically, while about 4 or 5 couples were actually Fred-and-Ginger-ing in the tiny club, making me wish I knew had to do that.

I don't think I've ever spent an evening at Barbes that wasn't a sweaty, joyful, chummy great time.

Then a H'ween party in Park Slope, at the beautiful 3-story brownstone of the man known as Chris the Caveman. (Imagine a make-up free Gene Simmons in a Flintstones-esque get-up. Or, don't imagine it, see it below, with Cheney and his prey aka Virpi and Gavin.)

For the third year in a row, I dressed as undercover elf royalty, and I see no reason to stop now. Here's a better shot of the ears, and that's the Wombat, dressed as Mister Bones:

Every year the Caveman's party gets bigger and more intense, and this year it was perfect: DJs spinning a very danceable mix of r&b, rap, and guilty-pleasure 80s rock, the whole first story full of people dancing all night long, with quieter areas upstairs, nice people, clever costumes, good eats & booze. Hope y'all had a nice weekend.

(Photos by Mr. Glossophagia)

thoughts? (6 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact