Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2006-11-21 - 6:36 a.m.

In the very crowded field of masturbation euphemisms, I am happy to have coined a new one: "I'm visiting my imaginary friend with benefits."


In other news, I just noticed that Emusic has Bee Thousand available for downloading. I remember the first time I heard this, at the Monday night "Antihoot" at the Sidewalk Cafe, which in the mid90s I attended religiously.

The regulars were very serious about songwriting, and everyone was curious about this Bob Pollard fellow who was causing some delirium across the land. Danny Scher had a cassette, and we popped it in the thingie and listened over the stage speakers. In my mind, I can't separate that beautiful opening riff of "I am a Scientist" from the orange-y lighting of the back room, and the visual image of about 5 of us kinda huddled around a small table, listening intently for any sign that Guided by Voices might in any way be more talented than us.


Late breaking: R.I.P. Robert Altman.

thoughts? (15 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact