Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2007-03-25 - 12:50 p.m.

Continuing an unprecedented non-fiction (almost anti-fiction--I keep trying and I can't seem to sink into anyone else's fictional universe) reading streak, I am simultaneously reading a bio of Lillian Roxon and a book of essays by Kurt Vonnegut.

I like this first line by KV, cuz it is completely accurate:

"...As a kid, I was the youngest member of my family, and the youngest child in any family is always a jokemaker, because a joke is the only way he can enter into an adult conversation..."


My favorite newspaper headline word--not that "tot" and "nab" are any slouches--is "flap." Especially when something or someone "stirs a flap." I have seen this word three times recently, once in relation to poor Knut, who himself is not stirring a flap, but is trapped in a flap he never made.


I am a little late in reporting this, but the story of the new gorilla baby is quite life-affirming.

thoughts? (7 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact