Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2007-05-01 - 5:43 p.m.

I saw The Queen the other night, an utterly transfixing movin' picture.

Helen Mirren as Queen Elizabeth, of course, was perfect, as was everyone else.

I found myself rooting, from the start, for the Queen, for tradition, for the fusty old monarchy. I have no idea why, but it seems a sounder alternative than the infantile celebrity worship that surrounded Diana. I think that anyone who truly considered her "the people's princess" is projecting quite heavily.

As an American, I find royalty baffling, but as a human being, I can't deny the romance of it. And I don't mean the cheap romance of royal weddings and commemorative plates and magazine covers, but the long, chilly history of it. The dogs and the flags and the castles and the trumpets.

Anyway: good flick.


Why does my mind ask me to think about Father Guido Sarducci today?


The nostalgia report, thanks to about 3 sordid weeks of holing up with Netflix DVDs:

  • Bosom Buddies is not quite as great as I remembered.

  • Bugs Bunny remains as great, if not better

  • Not that there was any doubt, but I have confirmed that The Simpsons is one of the best things to have happened to civilization.

  • And I am just about to find out how WKRP in Cincinnati stacks up to my childhood fanaticism.

    thoughts? (154 comments so far)

    previous - next

    blog archive

    contact