Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2008-02-05 - 11:04 p.m.

Obviously, the results of the primaries are the big news in these parts, but I just found out that Maharishi Mahesh Yogi is dead. This is big in my world.

The TM organization is creepy and corrupt, but at the same time, I think TM is head and shoulders above any other meditation technique--it is life-altering.

I have always felt an affection for Mahesh--he may have been kooky and cultish but he has had a profound and positive effect on many, many people, including yours truly.

It will be really interesting to see how the TM organization fares now that Mahesh is gone.


And happy Ash Wednesday.

I am a big fan of Lent. It feels good to give things up sometimes.


"...And as anyone who's seen a recent photo of Justice Scalia knows, there's a limit to the sexiness of tradition..."

This excellent apologia speaks for me on the all-important Tom Petty issue.

thoughts? (3 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact