Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2008-05-27 - 12:37 p.m.

I finally got a chance to visit the much-ballyhooed Fairway in Red Hook this weekend.

I can definitely see the value in such a place--it revitalizes the 'hood, offers good organic produce and healthful grocery choices, and is generally an enjoyable place to shop.

I also just noticed this, from the website: "...Besides the market, the 230,000 square foot complex will house workspaces for local artists, free offices for community-based not-for-profit organizations, event spaces, and 45 loft apartments...." Nice.

However, I am very fortunate to live within a few blocks of two excellent supermarkets and a health food store, and I tend not to buy the kind of high-end packaged organic stuff (shampoo, cleaning products, etc.) that Fairway sells.

So my final vote is: Fairway is good for others, but I will stick with my ol' routine.


And also: other stuff. But there is no time, no time...

thoughts? (2 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact