Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2008-06-10 - 11:37 a.m.

Minus the Bear are one of those bands that I have stayed away from, due to a) their name sounding arty, b) my distaste for anything described as "math rock," and c) the same irrational can't-explain-it aversion that I get whenever I see the word "Uncrustables."

However, I spent some time with their music yesterday, and came away from the experience admiring their technical ability, playfulness, and complexity--closest comparison would be the Sea & Cake, and the more melodic Thrill Jockey bands. I bet they'd sound pretty awesome live, too.


I made up a word: What do you call it when you send an email to thank someone for the thank-you card that they sent you after you sent them a gift?

"Meta-quette."


And here's an oxymoron for you.

thoughts? (8 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact