Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2008-08-20 - 1:40 p.m.

I have nothin' against the Olympics. There are aspects of it that are gross, and aspects that are inspiring, but mostly I don't watch them because I won't attach the antenna to my TV unless it's an emergency.

But this morning at the gym, where they have been showing the 'lymps on every TV monitor in the joint, I caught something that has burned into my retinas and changed me forever.

That's right, the Hip Hop Grannies of Beijing.


The new Stereolab album has a nice personality.

That's about all the descriptive enthusiasm I can muster, cuz I have never known what to make of this band. Their music is cool and fun, but I am unable to form any emotional bonds with their songs, so it's just pleasant, purplish background noise to me.


However, I am upgrading my response to Laura Marling's album. I'm gonna go out on a limb and say that it's my favorite album, so far, of 2008. She is far more a Richard Thompson heir than either of his two actual children, but her thing is truly her own--poised somewhere between British folk-rock and lo-fi bedsit tapes.


I appreciate the aims of this website Fact Check:

We monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews, and news releases. Our goal is to apply the best practices of both journalism and scholarship, and to increase public knowledge and understanding.

thoughts? (6 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact