Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2003-04-21 - 10:47 a.m.

Saw Christopher Guest's new film A Mighty Wind. It is gut-bustingly funny, and as all of CG's movies, it is emotionally resonant, musically savvy, and always nuanced. He doesn't always go for the obvious joke, and sometimes the humor comes from some mysterious, organic aspect of his stable of actors. Anyway, you don't have to be musical to enjoy the movie, but it's an added bonus that the folk world is observed so brilliantly here.


On the other end of the spectrum, I am reading Carved in Rock, an anthology of short stories written by (and about) rock musicians. I got it chiefly to read the fiction of one of my favorite songwriters in the universe, Robyn Hitchcock.

However, this book pretty much sucks. You'd think rock musicians would be interested in deflating the myths that surround their mileau rather than perpetuating them, but not this bunch. I did enjoy the brief shaggy dog tale by Steve Wynn, and a short non-music-related piece by Exene.


In show news, I have a gig coming up at Barbes in June. Barbes is currently my favorite musical/drinking establishment, although I'm not sure how my music is going to fare there--they tend to book Balkan brass bands and the like.

thoughts? (0 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact