Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2003-08-22 - 11:06 a.m.

Walking home on Blackout Thursday, I passed through South Street Seaport in an abortive attempt to get a ferry to Brooklyn. I'd heard that Ted Leo was supposed to play a free show, but figured it would have been cancelled. But no: the trooper found some generator action and played his show anyway, mostly to people who'd never heard of him. That can't be easy.

I would have stayed for the whole show but I had to get home to my dog.

I love Ted Leo's songwriting, and he seems like a nice person. Years ago, I saw him play at Maxwell's and was, weirdly, moved to write a letter to him, to which he responded in kind. I don't really write fan letters (uh, anymore) and I don't know what possessed me at the time...

thoughts? (0 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact