Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2003-10-19 - 7:01 p.m.

I tried to register my made-up word "nibling" as a neologism at Pseudodictionary. Much to my astonishment, someone already beat me to it.

Thieves and spies, everywhere.


Those snooty Brits at the Guardian have published another one of those semi-useful lists of the 100 Greatest Novels. Not counting film strips, comic book versions, and false starts, I have only read 20 of these books.

I think in many cases they identified great writers but didn't pick their best book. E.g., as much as I love Catcher in the Rye, Salinger's most enduring work is Franny & Zooey followed by Raise High the Roofbeams, Carpenters. Neither book is a novel per se, but neither is Ernest Hemingway's Men Without Women, which they picked as #50.

And Jack Kerouac deserves to be on this list, but On the Road is a terrible, terrible book. Have you read it lately? The Subterraneans, on the other hand, is pure poetry.


Special shout out to Liza & the Wonderwheels who put on a terrific, tuneful show on Saturday at 3JP. Like the newer/new-to-me songs a lot.

thoughts? (0 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact