Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2003-10-23 - 9:36 a.m.

There is an ape on the loose in Tennesse, and according to this article, he's got a "bad stinkful odor." So you'll know him when he's near.


Still haunted by the Elliott Smith suicide, the uniquely violent method he used, and the fact that he was living with his girlfriend, and she was the one who found him. What an assault that must have felt like to her and his family. I can't judge him, I've had enough suicidal thoughts in my day to understand how that is. And when you don't act on it, then at the end of the day it was just a thought, and just a feeling. But the process by which the suicidal thought becomes an action--your brain needs to be pretty fried to make that leap. All the drugs he's done in his life must have trashed his brain so he wasn't thinking straight. Argh, so sad.


On a happier note, the Larch's new e.p. is wonderful. Ian is a one-man Difford and Tilbrook, and his band rocks. On perpetual rotation on my mental radio is this song.


N.P.: The Strokes, "1251" (and it's good. I think it's time I reevaluated my initial response to them, especially now that the furor's died down.)

thoughts? (0 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact