Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2003-12-15 - 11:26 a.m.

Your dog has something to tell you.


Watched Comedian last night and found it both entertaining and inspiring. If you haven't seen it, it's a documentary that follows Jerry Seinfeld for a few months as he crafts a new stand-up routine. I'm guessing a stand-up routine is the creative equivalent of an album's worth of songs.

The part that struck me last night is when Jerry is reminiscing about how he used to work on his act about three times a week, until one day he notices a bunch of construction workers going back to work after lunch. It occurs to him that these guys are trudging back to their jobs w/o complaint, and that he needs to do the same--to keep trudging back to clubs and to the "drawing board" every day, whether he feels like it or not, because that's his job.

Now that doesn't sound like a happy epiphany, but it really is. it inspired me to get up in my phlegmy, fluish haze and grab my guitar and start working on the last remaining songs I need to finish for my record. Cuz, damnit, that's my job. Granted, an unpaid volunteer position, but a job nonetheless.

thoughts? (2 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact