Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-01-03 - 6:44 p.m.

By the way: Happy New Year!

This year's New Year's Day brunch was a ten-hour carb-and-love-fest. I am blessed with the coolest friends and family. This year there were an unprecedented number of dogs, children, and Beatle covers spontaneously performed.

Although I never get a chance to talk to any of my guests enough, the general aura of merriment had a healing effect on me--I woke up on Jan. 2 feeling well for the first time in a month (no cough).

If you're reading this and you were there: thank you for bringing your lovely self into my home and thank you for your friendship.


Spent all of Jan 2 immersed in The Fellowship of the Ring and The Two Towers (on video), with the culmination today of Return of the King at our local movie house.

Devastating. I am completely agog with admiration and inspiration. What major theme didn't this film cover with aplomb? (I consider it one long film, and sorry I haven't read the books, sacrilege, sacrilege...)

It's about power, corruption, loyalty, evil, more evil, good posing as evil, evil posing as good, fighting temptation. It's about the necessity of fighting for what you believe in, but having the humility to recognize that there are higher forces shaping your destiny. It's about evolution, letting go, holding on. It's about Christianity (it would appear), war, family, and friendship.

I was impressed with the ending(s), and the fate of the ring, and what an unabashedly emotional film this is---lots of weeping hobbits and beaming elves and general vulnerability mixed in with the bravado.

There's a scene where the evil Orcs are preparing for battle and their commander informs them, "You feel no fear, you feel no pain..." and right then you know that's their weakness. The Fellowship--the elves and hobbits and men and dwarves and wizards--are not ashamed to show their fear and pain; indeed it is what makes them stronger and more inspired to fight for good and for their people.

I do go on...I can't help it, I'm still all wrapped up in it...

...and the fashions!

thoughts? (0 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact