Image by Kelly

Intellectual House o' Pancakes Webdiary

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-02-24 - 10:26 a.m.

New Yorkers, are you liking all the new subway routes? This morning I took the newly-streamlined (or retro-streamlined, as this was its route back in the 1980s) N train, and it was great: got to work in record time.

On my way to the train this morning I saw a sign in a shop window: "Experience Butcher wanted." Aren't we all experience butchers, slicing and dicing reality to conform to our projections and desires?

Only thing is, the pay sucks. Haw.


Hey, look, Tris McCall has a fun music review blog up at NJ.com that focuses on NJ/NY area indie artists.


Movie talk!

I forgot to mention the other day that one of the things I liked best about 21 Grams was Gustavo Santaolalla's score, haunting but not obvious or heavy. I love that all the song titles are questions.

In other movie talk, I re-watched Lovely & Amazing last night on DVD. I got even more out of it than when I saw it in its theatrical release...it seemed funnier and also more moving.

Somehow, this time around I got the ending better, that maybe these three women (and one little girl) are finally turning to each other and to themsleves instead of outer distractions (men, dogs, food, unavailable doctors).

And there was the added bonus of watching it, this time, with my husband, who would laugh and elbow me anytime the Catherine Keener character said or did something straight out of my repertoire. (Substitute CDs for her little hand-crafted chairs and you've basically got me.)

thoughts? (4 comments so far)

previous - next

blog archive

contact